buriedinscraps

Decide what to be and go be it.

Archive for the day “April 10, 2012”

The Mad Quilter

I went downstairs to my sewing palace today and realized how completely unorganized I am!  I sew in a state of controlled chaos.  The  most amazing thing is that it doesn’t really bother me.  Well, it begins to bother me when I can’t see the tops of any tables or desks.  Where would I put my new fabric?  :-)  But then I decide I’d rather sew than organize.  I organized the room…once.  It didn’t stay that way.  Besides, it’s so unfair!  This is the room where everything ends up.  What’s that?  It’s my books and magazines and “stuff”?  Hmph!

My husband (God love him) is a neat freak.  When he dares to enter the palace, I can feel his blood pressure rise and his stomach tighten.  He usually comes down with a pile of “stuff” that he leaves on the cutting table.  Hey!  I left that magazine in the kitchen for a reason!  The reason being, of course, that there’s no room for it here!

I read one time that creativity is rarely neat.  That being said, I must be as creative as they come!  Since I don’t have the time I wish I had to sew, I sew in a flurry.  I have more than one project going at any one time and I jump back and forth. So, therefore, I have piles of fabrics and patterns and threads setting out waiting for their turn when the spirit moves me.  I have to see the things I want to do next….out of sight, out of mind.  I need for the future projects to be visible so that I can touch them, read the directions, look at the pictures and assure them that their time is coming soon.

I envy the neatniks.  I wish I could be one of them.  On the rare occasions the palace is neat and organized, it only stays that way until I glance at the clock and realize I only have a short time left in there.  I fire up the after burners and then the scissors fly!

So, what kind of  quilter are you?  What does your quilting space look like?

Post Navigation

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 123 other followers