buriedinscraps

Decide what to be and go be it.

The wait is over!

It’s been well documented on this blog that I have enough UFOs  to last a lifetime.   So why would I want to begin a new project?  Beats the heck out of me!  But I did.  I had this fat quarter bundle of fabrics that I wanted to use.  They were a little bit outside of my comfort zone and I was waiting for them to “speak” to me.  I thought they were going to speak about curvy, flowery designs….but they didn’t.  In fact, for a while, they didn’t say a word.  Until I saw this.   Then they began to whisper and then to shout.  “Hey crazy lady!  Look at this!” So, here is my take on it.

My first thought was to challenge myself to use just the fabrics in the bundle.  Nothing in the bundle worked for the first border so I had to add that fabric.  Then the pieces in the bundle were not long enough for the last border so I pieced it.  I think I like it better than I would like a solid border.  I also like the nine-patch look of it.  All in all, I like the darn thing!   I really enjoyed the challenge.

Course it isn’t a quilt until it’s quilted.  I’m thinking about some kind of a fat plume in the unpieced squares.  The border kind of lends itself to practicing feathers.  I’m never going to learn how to do feathers if I don’t practice so this is where I begin!   I posted the feather part because I’m hoping that by putting it in print I will shame myself into actually doing it!

So, now that I’ve teased you for a few days, I hope it was worth the wait!

Single Post Navigation

32 thoughts on “The wait is over!

  1. mary on said:

    I like it. :)

  2. Karen on said:

    Well, I Love it! I was wondering what you were gona do, it was quite a challenge with all those different fabrics. But, the colors I think are terrific tog.
    I am wanting to do a Quilt for Grant and know what I wanna do – – – but am looking for a Churn Dash or Hole in the Barn pattern. Got any clues where I might look for a simple pattern such as that??

  3. “I posted the feather part because I’m hoping that by putting it in print I will shame myself into actually doing it!”
    LOL! I’ve used this technique on myself!

  4. Really is a great pattern choice: traditional look in the piecing with a more contemporary look in the fabric. Very nice. Will be watching for the feathers…..just enough going on that the feathers will be ‘there’ but not ‘THERE’! We’ll be watching………….

  5. Looks great! Can’t wait to see it quilted!

  6. Sybil on said:

    Great pattern for showcasing larger prints – and I like how you made the border work without a lot of fabric.

    Get crackin’ on those feathers, girlfriend! I’m still not ready (brave enough?) to tackle them on a regular basis.

    • I have a feeling that my feathers won’t look very much like feathers. It amazes me to see how some quilters just seem to stitch them so effortlessly and I lay awake at night drawing them in my head!! And even in my dreams they don’t look that great! Oh well…practice, practice, practice.

  7. Way to go Candy! It looks great! And small enough to quilt yourself!!! (I’m big quilt challenged…)

  8. I love it! The color palette is so sophisicated.

    • Thanks! These fabrics were certainly out of my comfort zone. The colors were colors I work with, but not the prints. It’s fun to expand your horizons once in awhile!

  9. Love the fabrics you used!

  10. I’ve come to learn that the wow factor is sometimes in the print of your fabric and not necessarily in the arrangement or design you place the pieces in. I think it looks fantastic.

  11. Pingback: Almost summer…. « buriedinscraps

Your turn!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 120 other followers

