buriedinscraps

Decide what to be and go be it.

Almost summer….

This quilt makes me think of summer!

It’s almost summer and I’m almost on vacation.  I have six wonderful weeks away from the daily grind.  Just enough time to get used to being a lady of leisure and then BAM!–back to reality.  My days with umbrella drinks on the deck are severely limited.  So, for the first time ever, I’ve decided to go into summer break with a plan.  This post is the kick-off to the inaugural “At Least Do Something Constructive”  summer break.

I’m putting my plan out here for all the world to see…and to shame me into completing at least some of it!  There are those of you out there (and you know who you are) who will push nudge me along in this endeavour.

So, here is my summer To-Do list–in no particular order:

  • Finish quilting Gettysburg Sun
  • Quilt this guy with feathers
  • Quilt Midnight Stroll
  • Quilt my coneflower quilt  with Leah’s “zippling”
  • Make mug rugs and assorted goodies for my guild’s boutique in the fall
  • Get my Civil War Tribute quilt to the long arm quilter.  I know this probably really shouldn’t be on my to-do list but I think I can actually do this one!  :-)

OK….that’s enough!  I have to leave some time for the umbrella drinks on the deck!

Happy Summer!!!!

Single Post Navigation

42 thoughts on “Almost summer….

  1. I hope you have a great constructive vacation. I think you should be able to tick a few jobs on your list.

  2. You’re gonna be busy! Definitely take time to sniff the flowers and soak up the sunshine!

  3. Sounds like a fun summer to me! Have a great time.

  4. Yay for summer! That’s a lot of quilting you’ve got planned there. I’m looking forward to seeing it!

    • So am I! I needed some motivation and I’m hoping this is it. Last night I had trouble falling asleep thinking about what I wanted to accomplish. I know….goofy!

  5. mary on said:

    Hey-you forgot your quilting plans down this way! lol

  6. Just forgot to post them! Didn’t forget about the charity quilt we want to make. July just seems sooooooooo far away and I need a vacation soooooooooo bad!!!

  7. Please keep us updated on your progress – it would be great to think that at least one person does work through their list! And your work is so lovely it deserves the finishing touches.

  8. It sounds like you have a busy summer ahead!!! Good luck on getting all your projects done!

  9. Moi is watching!!!!!! Have duly made note of your list………You sound like me when there is something great on the horizon—-mind goes into overdrive and sleep goes out the window!!! Enjoy, Dearheart, and let us tag along…….hugs, D

    • How did you know I was talking about you? :-) Yep…my mind is spinning and my head is reeling!! You may most certainly tag along!!

      • My “people” are everywhere….you ARE being watched!!! Hehe! We leave for the Black Hills,SD, early Tuesday morning (DH wanted to leave this Sunday but I have quilt meeting Monday-Mem. Day- eve. so canNOT leave b/4 that!! Hold to your vacation plans and leave room for spontaneity! Consider it a “mini-retirement”.

        • Will we be hearing from you while you’re in SD? Have fun. Sounds like a great trip! Do you ride?

          • Definitely will be posting-with pictures- while out there. Will be taking the car (filled with items from the camper that would have frozen, etc, over the winter) this time. When we go in August, we ride out, taking 2 lane Hwy. 14 across MN (from Rochester) and across SD then pick up I90 at Wall, SD. I love that route! Check out my avatar. That is my bike I am sitting on. This trip hope to get to a quilt show in Rapid City.

  10. Hope you keep posting so we can join your progress! Good list and have a fun and very productive summer :)

  11. You make me want to have a plan for the summer as well!! Good for you and keep us posted with pictures.

  12. Cindy @ In A Stitch on said:

    I really enjoy your website. Your pictures as well as your stories are wonderful. Do save time for relaxation. I hope you have a great time traveling through your list of things to co. :)

  13. Karen on said:

    You Go Girl!! You can do it!! Went to the website to look for churndash block, and, Viola there it was! Thanks.
    I have an idea for Grant’s Quilt using International Harvester Fabric. He will grad. next yr. (one semester in school and one semester Internship) and I WILL have it done for his Grad.!!!!
    Hope you can take time out for Lunch with Me this summer. TRY!!!
    Karen

    • We always try!!! Just not always successful. this summer for sure!
      IH fabric sounds like a great idea. Do they have fabric with the tractors on it or are you just going to use IH colors?
      I still have to get over to see the new “baby”!

  14. Sounds like you are going to be busy! :)

  15. Sybil on said:

    What a great plan. I have no doubts that you will cross several items off that list. I should make a list…..I’m feeling like I’m in a bit of a non-motivated slump right now and a list always helps. :)

  16. Good luck with your summer To Do List. Sounds like a LOT of quilting! After three years of completing UFOs (now all done!) I now only allow myself two large projects on the go at any one time. That way I HAVE to finish if something new catches my eye! Enjoy your summer vacation!

    • As I typed this post, I realized that I was more of a piecer than a quilter! My goal is to finish these and then, like you, not have too many going at the same time. Thanks for stopping by!

  17. What a great list! What’s a Quilt Midnight Stroll?

    • I want to quilt my Midnight Stroll quilt. It’s a quilt I made from a kit. It’s pieced with some wool applique. I’ll try to get a picture of it posted soon. Thanks for asking!

  18. Cindy @ In A Stitch on said:

    I absolutely love the pictured quilt and its colors. FANTASTIC! Would look lovely in my home. :)

Your turn!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 123 other followers

