buriedinscraps

Decide what to be and go be it.

Another one finished….

First off….I’m going to apologize in advance. I’m posting this from my IPad and it likes to put words in my mouth. I ticked another project off my summer to-do list. I finished my charity quilt. My sister and I have been making lap quilts for the veteran’s home. While my top has been finished for a while, I put a off quilting it. I wanted to put it on my Hinterburg frame with my Juki TL 98. I have a love/hate relationship with this set-up. When it works, it’s great! When it doesn’t it’s a nightmare. I’ve had more nightmares than sweet dreams. Because of this, I stopped using it. I decided to give it another chance. Loaded up the quilt. That was an adventure in itself since I forgot how to do it. Got it loaded up and fired up the machine. Guess what! It worked beautifully. I was finished in two and a half hours. Only had a small tension problem that was easily fixed. I only did a meandering design to eliminate any extra pressure!

After I bound the quilt, I tossed it into the washing machine. When I pulled it out, I saw that one of the reds had run. Dang! That hadn’t happened to me in years! See what happens when you become complacent? My sister and I worked on the next charity quilt. Didn’t make the progress we had hoped. ┬áBut that’s another post for another day!

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “Another one finished….

  1. I so love that quilting pattern….seems like it ‘flatters’ so many patterns and you did it so well! I have really come to depend on the Shout Color Catchers when I wash such items. Haven’t disappointed yet! Hugs, D

  2. mary on said:

    Candy- your charity quilt looks great! The project today was fun. I’m gonna work on it some more Thursday.

    Ya know, I had a red bleed not so long ago. I was mad about that. So I tried the color catchers and I have to say- I was very disappointed in it. It appeared to dull up some of my fabrics? I don’t know how or what happened but I won’t use it again. It was as if my quilt had been washed 30 times. Fabrics faded. :(

    • Mary, Have never noticed that happening with any of the quilts I’ve used the ‘Catchers’ on……will definitely be aware of that. I do not prewash my fabrics, generally, and I know that reds are notorious ‘bleeders’ ( I use that color a lot). When removing the sheet after washing/drying something containing deep red, or blue, that is the tint that shows on the sheet. Thanks for the “heads up” though!

  3. Cindy @ In A Stitch on said:

    I’m sure the recipient of the quilt will love it anyway. It looks wonderful as does the quilting.

  4. It’s a beautiful quilt – The run (though thoroughly annoying) is relatively small. I’m really sure that the recipient will be more happy with a wonderful, handmade quilt. Good job – your quilting is GREAT!!!

  5. It’s gorgeous!

    That’s good to know about the Shout color catchers.

  6. Elisabeth on said:

    Candy, this quilt is great. I love the composition of your photo, too.

  7. Sybil on said:

    Beautiful. You are just zooming through your summer to-do list….it must feel great!

  8. I love this quilt! I have some little striped blocks left over from my first two quilts – I wouldn’t be surprised if they end up in a quilt that looks a lot like this! Thanks for the inspiration.

Your turn!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 122 other followers

