buriedinscraps

Decide what to be and go be it.

Whew! Finally caught up!

I’ve finally caught up on the Wednesday Quilt-Along.  I’m apologizing in advance for the multitude of pictures….Week 1-Week 5.  What a learning curve!  What I learned is that I didn’t know what I thought I knew!  You can always learn something new.  The process is always evolving…

Here is my Week 1 endevour…stippling practice.  I’ve stippled before but it was very difficult to stipple in rows.  I wasn’t sure I liked that.  Who knew little U’s and humps could be such a pain!

Moved on to Week 2.   I was sure I wasn’t going to like quilting in rows.  I’ve always thought that you just stipple randomly…merrily making little curves and dips and wandering right into a corner where you have to quilt a straight line to get out!  I know….getting stuck is not good.  I can see where quilting in rows can help with that.  But I also saw where my rows made my curves look like little soldiers.  Not exactly the smooth look I wanted.  So i was absolutely sure that the quadrant quilting would not work.  Guess what!  It did.  I actually liked it.

Now, we’re playing with scale in Week 3.  That has to be one of the hardest things for me to do…keep a consistent scale.  I start out beautifully.  Then I see how much further I have to go and the scale slowly increase in size.  Like my Grandma’s cookies!  :-)  So I know I need more practice with that.

Week 4.  Straight line quilting.  Should be a breeze, huh!  More like a tornado!  Straight lines are hard!!!  It didn’t help that the only fabric I had with a stripe wasn’t a straight stripe.  Didn’t think to draw straight lines…even though Leah suggested it.

My cheater cloth was octagons.  That was pretty hard to quilt without travelling.  So, like the Merry Wanderer, I travelled.  And it wasn’t pretty.  I think my lines themselves were good, but the travelling was not.  And I certainly wouldn’t use that color thread with that fabric again!  I wanted to see my stitches.  And, boy, did I!

The motif was actually pretty good.  I was pretty pleased with that.

And now to Week 5 where we put it all together.  The straight lines on the star are pretty good.  The stippling could be better.  I just need to retrain my brain to quilt in rows.  It will come.

So what have I learned?  I’ve learned you need to relax and BREATHE!  And a glass of wine can’t hurt!  Just don’t spill it!

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “Whew! Finally caught up!

  1. Oh my gosh! I love your stippling. And I really don’t think your in the ditch looks that bad. Naturally you are Gina see the threads in a cheater cloth and factor in the thread is a very visible color.

    Stippling in rows is work for me too. My
    Brain falls into random stippling. Drawing it on paper really does help with the memory part of it.

    Nice work. And now you’re caught up!

  2. You are doing great! I agree that scale is difficult – more practice will help, I’m sure! I am a very left brain person and I was stippling in rows before Leah even mentioned it! I think that is the only reason I can stipple – I have a great need to know where I’m sewing next! Leah did say to do whatever works for you…

    • I think what might work best is a combination of the two. I like the idea that you have more control of where you’re going with the rows. It’s just getting the brain to go along! :-)

  3. Oh wow, great job! Wonderful that you are all caught up!

  4. It’s taking me a bit of time to get used to quilting in rows too, but I’m beginning to like it – I’m getting stuck in corners much less than I usually do. And I’m with you on those pesky straight lines! I can’t draw or cut a straight line, so not surprisingly, quilting one isn’t too easy either.

  5. I’ve been wondering about stippling… this is great! The photos really help me understand… and want to try it myself… *gulp* ! :)

Your turn!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 122 other followers

