buriedinscraps

Decide what to be and go be it.

At long last….my Civil War Tribute quilt

Way back in January of 2011, I stumbled upon Barbara Brackman’s Civil War Quilts blog.  The idea was to make a block a week for the entire year to commemorate the 150th anniversary of the Civil War, all the while learning a little bit about the life of the people in those war times.  As much as I love the Civil War reproduction fabrics, it was a no-brainer.  I had to do this!  I had to make this quilt.  To be honest, I was a little bit afraid to undertake the project.  I had already succumbed to the siren song of another Civil War block of the month that turned into “blocks” of the month—as in several blocks with a multitude of pieces in each.   (Shouldn’t there be some truth in advertising?)  After I found myself drowning in triangles, I put the monthly kits away and decided to complete this behemoth at a later date.  A much later date!  Like maybe never.  So I feared that this project would turn into the same thing.

Each week I diligently went to the site and printed the history lesson and made the blocks.  I actually kept up!  The blocks were 8 inches finished…a nice size…and most went together easily.  A few had tiny triangles; but I only had to make one of them.  I finished the blocks this past January.  And last week, I finally assembled them and added the border.

Ladies and gentlemen, I present to you an actual nearly completed project by me (the queen of UFOs)…my Civil War Tribute Quilt!

This is my early spring not so pretty yet back yard.  But this was the only place I could find that would display the quilt in it’s entirety.

The next step is to take it the quilter.  I’m not far enough along in my free motion quilting journey to attempt this on my own.   I worked too hard to ruin it with lopsided feathers and wobbly circles and such.  I have a vision of pretty curlicues, feathers and wreaths and I know that my skills aren’t there yet.  Heck!   They may never be there. That’s why God gave us long arm quilters!

In case you haven’t seen enough of the quilt, here’s a slide show of some of my favorite blocks.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Now…on to the Civil War basket doll quilt that’s been calling my name.  Can you hear it?  🙂

Single Post Navigation

25 thoughts on “At long last….my Civil War Tribute quilt

  1. mary on said:

    I am so jealous!
    Why did I tell you I didn’t want to do yet another “block” thing? Oh wait. It was the Civil War BOM quilt straight from hell! Mine is already dispursed in my fabric stash and the blocks that are done will find their way to a lap size quilt for our veterans charity donations one day.

  2. Wow! Can you hear my applause???? Way to go! It is gorgeous! Such an accomplishment. It will be an heirloom for sure! Hugs, Doreen

  3. crazymountainquilter on said:

    Your quilt looks great, but now I want to see the doll baskets quilt I have heard you talk about a couple times now. If I could just get one block a week done on my dear Jane quilt I would be doing good. So far it has been a block a week, and that one was just a practice block in fabric that isn’t even going in the quilt. What was I thinking a. LOL

    • I want to see it, too! :-). I’ve actually been working on it. I started a Dear Jane quilt. I have maybe six blocks finished. I did make a Baby Jane with six blocks. I gave up thinking that I could make. the full quilt….it’s a little bit overwhelming. I had an opportunity to see Brenda P. ( I’m not even going to try to spell her name!). She spoke so passionately about Jane Stickle and this quilt. It was really inspiring. But my time right now is at a premium. 😦

  4. This is absolutely beautiful! Those pieces are tiny. What a fabulous heirloom 🙂
    Thank you for sharing.

  5. Looks fantastic. Very authenic and a great colour palette.

  6. Sybil on said:

    Gorgeous. Makes me want to pull out my reproductions and do something with them….lick them maybe? 😉

  7. Do it! Jump!!!

  8. Your quilt is gorgeous!!! ….and you did a great job. Sending a virtual ‘high five’! Woo Hoo!

  9. WOWWIE – what an accomplishment. Congrats!

  10. Karen on said:

    Love it, Love it, Love it!!! So Beautiful. So proud of you, not only you finished it, but, What A Beautiful Job.
    What an accomplishment.

    Have to comment on your rollin’ in dough blog last week. I laughed and cried when I saw and read about Maddy. I am lovin’ this Blog thing.

    Karen

    • We’ll be taking a trip to the quilter after the holiday, OK? MiniQuilter and I will walk over with it one of these days.I knew you’d get a kick out of Maddy. I cried a little bit, too! Guess we got that from her!!

  11. This quilt is amazing! I love all the different blocks as well as the color story you chose. Congratulations on finishing it!

  12. That is wonderful. It just looks amazing. Well done. Maybe I too can complete the Farmer’s Wife Quilt.

  13. quilt32 on said:

    Your Civil War quilt is wonderful. I saw some of the same fabrics in yours that I used in mine.
    Lillian
    lillianscupboard.wordpress.com

  14. Kelly on said:

    I love this quilt! I love how you incorporated the photograph images; work of genius. Your colours are gorgeous too and very patriotic.

    • Thanks! These fabrics are a passion of mine. The quilt was fun to make. Each Saturday, there was a new block posted and a little history lesson that tied in with the block. Most of the blocks were pretty easy so it didn’t take upmost of the week to finish ! I have alink on my blogroll to the Civil War quilt blog if youwould like to take a look. I think she’s leaving it up for a while longer.

Your turn!

