buriedinscraps

Decide what to be and go be it.

A tisket, a tasket….

….here’s my little basket!

I decided to take a break from FMQ this weekend and work on a project that’s been calling to me for weeks.  This is Civil War Baskets from the book Remembering Adelia by Kathleen Tracy.  Her Yahoo group made this little doll quilt for their March challenge.  Once I saw their quilts, I had to have one!  So I pieced the little 4 1/2 inch blocks this weekend. There are twelve blocks in all.  I haven’t decided on sashing yet, but I hope to get to that soon.  I know the last thing  I needed to do was begin another project.  But, sometimes a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do.

I used pressing bars for the first time on these baskets.  They made really sweet little bias handles.  No burned fingertips making them!  They were so easy to use and so inexpensive to buy that I wonder now why I ever tried making bias strips without them!  My fingertips are happy!  On the right is a mini-tutorial on the use of the bars….very mini.  🙂  Just click on the image to enlarge it.

Although I enjoy the entire quilting process (except binding), I think I love piecing the best.  I love how the designs come together.  I love the colors and patterns.  Geesh…I need to piece more often!!

Single Post Navigation

22 thoughts on “A tisket, a tasket….

  1. Those baskets are adorable! And you are right, a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do!

  2. crazymountainquilter on said:

    I am lovin’ it, way too cute. Quick get it finished and send it to me to put the binding on……but I must mention that I am post office impaired so it might be awhile before it is returned. But have no fear I have the perfect place for safe hanging until I can get to the post office to send it back *Ü* I like sweet little fabrics so I have a very hard time picking out reproductions then when I see them stitched up…..ohhh la la way to fun.

    • Hmmmm….I’m not sure I can trust you! 🙂 You are soooooooo very willing!

      • crazymountainquilter on said:

        Are you saying my halo is a bit tarnished? I did admit I was post office impaired so it might have to hang on my wall for awhile *Ü* LOL

        • Perhaps a TAD tarnished! 🙂 I don’t understand post office impaired. My husband is a letter carrier so I haven’t been inside a post office in years! I understand it’s no picnic!

  3. These little blocks are going to make such a cute quilt!!! I hate sewing on the binding by machine, but love the mindless hand sewing it onto the back! It’s great to do while watching movies or TV!!!

  4. Mary on said:

    Those pressing bars…will they work for all those stems and vines I never want I appliqué on borders but love the look of?

    It’s a cute project that finishes quick. Those are nice to especially coming off of a big project.

  5. I have had those press bars for quite a long time and love them!!! And reasonably $$$! Those baskets are so cute! Have the finished FMQ project set aside waiting for the next, finishing, installment. Will make 2 little bibs for g.grand this afternoon and then maybe a motorcycle ride……or a walk (which I could really use more!!!). Pharmacy work tomorrow, so no sewing!-( Hugs, Doreen

    • I’m hoping to be ready for the next installment very soon. I think I may take a walk when I get home before I plunge into the FMQ. I hate walking alone but I know I won’t find any willing volunteers!

      • crazymountainquilter on said:

        I wish I had someone near to go walking and hiking with. Anyone willing to walk with me expects me to drive to town every day to walk with them but no driving my way to walk with me. grrrrr

        • My husband was walking with me but he had knee surgery on Friday and he’s moving pretty slowly right now. I’d have to pack a lunch if he were walking with me!

  6. Janet on said:

    I love the baskets. I’m terrible at piecing so I’m incredibly jealous of how even yours turned out. Pretty!

  7. You are a very productive woman! I really admire you. BTW I like the binding part, but that might just be me!

    • Not nearly as productive as I’d like to be! But I think that’s all of us. So many quilts…too little time. I have more people telling me they like binding. I just can’t wrap my brain around enjoying that process!!
      🙂

  8. Your Civil War tribute quilt is just lovely. And I get a kick out of the title of your blog. I’ve written four books on quilting (working on more) and when the first one was done (Teach Yourself Visually Quilting), I had sewn or cut or otherwise arranged everything in its 650 photographs, and I was buried in scraps.

    Three years later, I am still trying to use them up. Once I get done with my next three pattern books, I am going to do one on scrap quilts. I’ve been collecting ideas and inspirations for a while now.

    And thank you for stopping by my blog, http://www.SonjaHakala.com.

    • Thanks for the kind words, Sonja. If you quilt enough, you will eventually be buried in scraps!! I can think of a millions things that I’d rather NOT be buried in!
      I love books on scrap quilts! I’ll be looking forward to that one in the future.

  9. Sybil on said:

    LOVE those blocks!

Your turn!

