buriedinscraps

Decide what to be and go be it.

Finished…I can’t believe it….

It’s hard for me to believe but I finished the whole cloth quilt for Leah’s Quilt Along!  First I want to thank Leah for answering my question on Thursday about not lowering the feed dogs.  The answer made perfect sense and the implementation worked great.

Now on to the whole cloth quilt.  As I’ve said before, it’s just not my style.  But this project packed a whole lot of learning into a small quilt!  I learned how to mark a whole cloth quilt…something that obviously has greater implications…marking motifs and borders.  I learned that if  I’m going to use the back door window for a light box, I have to either: 1. grow 2. start lower on the window or 3. get the step stool.  I had some pretty tired arms by the time it was marked!  I learned to keep the feed dogs up and the stitch length set at zero.  If I had only believed that would work earlier, I would have saved beating my head against the wall a few times.  I got a beginner’s idea about making feathers.  The drawn feathers were not as difficult as I imagined them to be.  Freehand may be another story.  But another story for another day!  I learned the importance of planning a quilting strategy…know where you want to go before you get there and know the route you’re going to take.  The most important thing I learned was to accept where you are with your skill level and understand that even if it’s not where you’d like to be, it’s where you are.  That doesn’t mean you have to stay there.  Accept where you are right now and know where you’re going.

And…last but certainly not least…I love the way Leah taught us to attach binding!  I’ve tried to join the binding at the end in this way before but found it extremely confusing.  I would finally get it to look OK after several attempts.  And, by that time, I had no idea what I did to make it work!  But this was a very simple and straightforward explanation and it actually worked the very first time! Of course there are four corners.  I would have been a fool to think all four of them would turn smoothly.  The first three were wonderful.  The fourth was a little bugger.  No matter what I did, it wasn’t right.  I finally got it as close as I could and let it go.  I have enough real stress in my life to add unnecessary drama to it!  🙂   Bottom line is this…I still don’t like to attach binding.  But I dislike it a little bit less now.

Last week, I was going to chuck this quilt in the trash.  Now, I’ve become quite fond of it.  I even gave it a name.  I decided to call it Summer Sherbet.  Just looks like a bowl of sherbet.  I’m thinking I’ll keep it.

Just for giggles, here’s a picture of the Bunny Butt cake I made for the grandkids for Easter dessert.  They thought it was pretty funny.  Of course say “butt” to two eight year olds and they lose it!  I got this recipe from the Betty Crocker website.  Believe me…it was easy to make!  I don’t do hard when it comes to baking!

I hope everyone had a nice holiday.  And now it’s back to quilting!!

Watch this space for the Civil War basket quilt.  It’s assembled and basted and ready for quilting.  The plan is tomorrow…

Single Post Navigation

28 thoughts on “Finished…I can’t believe it….

  1. Sybil on said:

    YEAH! Love the Summer Sherbet quilt! I’ve been quilting for eons and I learned something from the binding lesson also – how cool to be teachable at our ripe ol’ ages. :o)

    Cute bunny butt cake – I bet it was a ton of laughs for 8 year olds.

    • I guess you CAN teach an old dog new tricks! But I really am glad this project is behind me. I don’t a lot of patience with something I’d rather not do…nor a lot of time. But I guess it’s worth it I. The end when you’ve learned something.
      We had lots of giggles over the bunny cake. Just the mere mention of the word butt produces a torrent! Ah…to be so young and do easily entertained!

  2. Beautiful quilt! mmmmmmmmmm lemon sherbet…

  3. I like the name you chose for your whole cloth. Perfect!

    (the bunny cake)- “See my butt…” lol

    I have always binded my quilts that way; not always great success on the corners, but certainly it was an immediate improvement over my prior method which was just struggle through whatever way I could. lol

    • Still wish I could find a fool proof way of attaching by machine that was perfect on both sides. But this is perfect enough since it beats the other way!

  4. That is a stunning little quilt and the name is perfect! We have all come so far! There was something for absolutely everyone in this practice piece. Leah’s guidance was so ‘spot on’ that we all came away like shining star pupils!! You have done wonderfully, Candy, and you most definitely must keep this treasure!! Huge hugs…..Doreen

    • Leah has a lot of knowledge to share and I’m so glad she does! How did someone that young get to be so smart?!

      • Those are my thoughts exactly……especially when I was reading her thoughts through all the copyright fiasco! More “level headed” than I ever was at her age (maybe even now….depends on who you ask!LOL!)

  5. I am so impressed with your little quilt! Congratulations. And I agree — you absolutely must keep this little treasure!

  6. The quilt is gorgeous, and I love the bold print border you used. Just lovely.

  7. Wow, I love your blog! This quilt is amazing… and I just adore the bunny butt!! Too funny!
    I’m brand new at sewing and quilting, so I’m really happy to find you! I’m off to wander your blog… sew much good stuff to look at and read! 😉

  8. Bwahahaha… That bunny looks happy! I’m glad you got to play with a wholecloth quilt… I’ve only done hand quilting on one, and yours came out so pretty!

  9. Love your practice piece. I have taken a few classes in FMQ, but never got motivated to keep the practice up. I am not familiar with Leah’s Quilt Along. Can you provide a link?

  10. I love your wholecloth quilt, especially the print border which you added. Its just wonderful. Your binding looks perfect too :-).

    cheers,
    Malini

  11. pearlygirly03 on said:

    I am glad you didn’t chuck it! It looks wonderful, and I love the border you added!!

  12. Congratulations on your spectacular quilt~ you did and finished too! and thanks for posting the bunny butt cake, my wee grandsons will enjoy that one Easter when the little ones are a bit older!

  13. Congratulations. I really love your quilt. Great job. Hugs Jofrid

  14. Congratulations your summer sherbet is lovely!

Your turn!

