buriedinscraps

Decide what to be and go be it.

In my other life…

When I’m not working or quilting or “family-ing”, I love photography.  As much as quilting is my passion, my camera is a close second.  Having said that, you might think I was good at it.  Not so much.  I’m much better than I was but not at all as good as I hope to be someday.  My friend Debbi and I have been taking some photography classes from her DIL’s friend…a professional photographer.  That girl has definitely taken me out of my comfort zone.  The difference in my photos is amazing…even realizing how much farther I have to go!  Debbi and I began the classes to take better pictures of the grandkids.  I was tired of getting snapshots.  I wanted photos.  I wanted images!  And I have been able to achieve that with them.  Sure, I delete a lot of pictures.  But at least I usually get that one great shot!  I moved outside to our yard and snapped a few of the spring flowers in the back yard.  Thought I might share some of them with you.

My goal this weekend is to take MarioFan to the park and try to get some good shots of him.  Where MiniQuilter poses, he just gives me that cheesy eight year old smile.  God love ‘im!  He promised to cooperate because he’s helping me with my homework.

The real reason why I’m sharing these photos is that I don’t have anything quilty to show you.  I just ran out of time to work on anything this week.  However, I did get to the store and bought lots of batting so when I get time to quilt, I’m ready!!  One quilt did actually get pin-basted.  And Leah didn’t give us any homework this week.  There was nothing to motivate me!  Perhaps a cattle prod….

MiniQuilter wanted to work on her quilt so we sewed together one more row of blocks.  Her progress is slow.  She may have it completed before the fabrics go out of style.  🙂

And, to tie my camera and sewing together, I found this wonderful tutorial!  My camera bag has seen better days.  I looked around for a bag that had a little bit of style.   Guess you have to pay for style!  A lot.  I think I would really like to try to make this bag.  But I’m thinking that cotton fabric would probably not hold up.  What do you think about an upholstery fabric?

Single Post Navigation

28 thoughts on “In my other life…

  1. harrispen on said:

    Photography is also my second love. Since I don’t have little people in my life I enjoy taking pictures of birds and other nature. Your flower pictures are very nice.

    Cindy

  2. GORGEOUS! Keep sharing your work – I love photography.

    Funny……I was just thinking today to pull out my camera….you’ve motivated me to pull it out of the back of the closet, Candy. Thanks!

    • Pull that baby out! It’s funny…once you become interested in photography, you see everything in a different light…pun sort of intended! A few years back, we took the family to Disney World. Of course, I took a multitude of pictures of the grandkids. My sons asked me if I ever saw a family event outside of the viewfinder. I realized I didn’t see much outside of it! The price you pay being the family photographer…

  3. I really wish I was taking the class with you! Love your photos! I don’t understand my camera at all. I’ve read the manual, but it is gobbledy-gook to me. Keep up the good work!

  4. Candy – I think you must be my soulmate – your blog on photography and the glimpse of your sewing room say so. I can’t wait to read more, and see more of your photos.

  5. Beautiful pictures! Last year I did a 365 project where I took one photo per day and scrapbooked them throughout the year. It’s amazing how much I learned and improved from start to finish – but I still have so much more to figure out! I think taking a photography class like you is a good idea. 🙂

    • That has always been a goal of mine…365 project. I think it would make you see things you wouldn’t ordinarily see because you would have to search for photo opps on some days!
      This class is great! It’s very informal. We meet every other Monday and she teaches us what we want to learn. After the first few weeks when she taught us about the mechanical aspects of our cameras, it became very unstructured. Now, she teaches what we want to learn…she mentors us. We’re all having a ball!

  6. Those pictures are gorgeous!
    I want good pictures but not interested enough to learn much about it. lol

    AJ wants me to make him a camera strap. I can’t imagine making an entire bag. lol
    He has his idea layed out and materials purchased but no embroidery machine. Ah… reprieve.

  7. Those are lovely photos! I’ve gotten “into” photography a lot more since beginning blogging – it’s so much fun! Thanks so much for stopping by my blog this morning! I am embarrassed to have realized that I had four errors in the first two paragraphs (which I’d reworked at the last second) and also that I forgot the photo of the quilt I made! Anyway, photo and corrections are now added…good grief!

    • Yep…it helps to be a decent photographer with a blog. I always look for photos on a blog.
      Funny…I read your post and saw no errors! I think your eye “sees” what it’s supposed to see sometimes!

      • Yes, I think you’re right about our eyes correcting mistakes! And I agree – photos make such a huge difference. Which is why I’m glad I remembered to add that other one! It helps break things up and not look as intimidating, perhaps.

  8. What a pretty garden you must have. Our trees are just starting to come out and the lilac won’t bloom for at least another 6 weeks!

    Love your photos and your quilting – keep it up! 🙂

  9. Hello, Candy…..I have a very good “point and shoot” style Canon….really, sufficient for me (especially since I read the manual a while back and can shift from ‘auto’ to manual and get better shots! Also, rarely/never use flash. Take care of things in PhotoShop!) I would use a “home dec” fabric (not quite as heavy as upholstery but can be water repellant, etc. and you can add very lightweight batting/interfacing to boost the ‘hand’/feel/durability. Scotch Guard sprayed on afterwards, also, helps repel dinginess etc. Have a great day. I’m off to finish up my blue prom ‘monster’!!!! Hugs, Doreen

  10. Your dicentra image is beautiful! Those manual settings really do make all the difference! Thank you for visiting my blog and for your lovely comment.

    • And thanks for your nice comments! I was terrified of manual but it’s coming more and more naturally to me. And it has made all the difference! The biggest issue I have with it is that it takes me a bit more time to adjust everything and the grandkids get “antsy”.

  11. Pingback: Playing with the Camera |

Your turn!

