buriedinscraps

Decide what to be and go be it.

At long last…

…I can sew again!

Last week I was jolted into action when my sewing cabinet was delivered days before it was even scheduled to ship.  It was a very long weekend of cleaning, tossing, assembling and reorganizing.  I’m not sure what was my least favorite.  I can say that the tossing was the hardest.  After all this time I’ve developed a relationship with my “stuff”.  But all things must end, so toss I did.  Fabric, patterns, threads, software–seriously, who has a floppy drive any more?  It was amazing to me that I could haul out so many bags and boxes of “stuff” and still have “stuff” left over!  Where in the world had I been putting it?

My husband assembled the cabinet in two days with little difficulty.  Ran into a few missing parts but Kangaroo Kabinets mailed them out immediately and sent along a cute little tote for my trouble.  Great…more stuff!!

Saturday morning was the trek to Ikea.  What a cool store!  My first time in an Ikea but not my last, I’m sure!  By late Saturday afternoon, my husband had the cutting table assembled and I could begin to bring things back into the room.

Here’s the biggest lesson learned!  My focus was on the cabinet.  Where would it fit the best?  Would there be an issue if it were completely opened up?  All of those measurements were taken before (know where I’m going with this?) we built the cutting table.  It’s not as wide as the table I had been using (good) but deeper than said table (bad).  The sewing cabinet doesn’t reeeeeaaaally fit with the quilting leaf opened up in the back.  Thanks goodness both pieces are on casters..  So with a minor bad word or two and a little maneuvering, I can make it work.  That was close.  Moral of the story….measure, measure, measure!

My husband installed a shelf for my stereo and another above the computer for my pictures.  Add a mini fridge and I may never have to leave!  My little kangaroo, Pockets, has a home near my machine.  Cute little guy has his ears on backwards!  MiniQuilter wants to know how he can talk on the phone.  Wow!  Is she a child of the times or what!

Sunday began the great migration back to the room.  The grands were over and MiniQuilter decided to “help”.  I told her she could have a little cubbie in the cabinet for her “stuff”.   Believe me–she crammed a lot in a little space!  She’s certainly Grandma’s girl!

In the past, I left my ironing board up all of the time.  (Couldn’t see the top of it half of the time!)  Without the ironing board in there, I have so much breathing space!  I’m almost giddy–I could dance in there if I wanted to dance. Ooooo…that’s not a pretty picture!  🙂  The euphoria didn’t last long.  Enter my husband with the darn ironing board.  Right now, it’s folded up behind the door and I’m using a folded towel on the cutting table to press seams.  I figure if we need to iron a shirt (does anyone really do that anymore?), we can set it up and take it down…My question to you:  What do you use in your sewing space to press seams?

Enjoy my little slideshow of the “after”.  You’ve seen the before here!  I’m going to go sew….finally!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Single Post Navigation

33 thoughts on “At long last…

  1. What a great setup. I hope you get lots and lots of enjoyment from it. I’m sure it was worth the “big fight”. Have fun!

  2. mary on said:

    Was that a drink sitting next to your Bernina? 🙂
    Love it! My pockets ears are backwards too.

    • Sort of….it’s a Pepsi! Yeah…I have liquid by the machine. A habit I need to break. Need to break the Pepsi habit anyway. But it’s in my blood!!! 🙂

  3. Oh my!!! That is a dream space!!! I love your set-up!!! I desperately need a lamp like yours (“goose-neck” style). Where did you get it??????? That machine/tables are awesome. Watch out—-“stuff” has a way of returning! Just sayin’. Loved the slide show….Hugs,Doreen

  4. It looks fabulous!!! Lucky you… I’m green with envy!!!

  5. Good job – I love your space! Can’t wait to see all the great projects coming out of there! 😉

  6. dljolin on said:

    Oh I can sooo sympathize with this right now. We are in the process of moving…..not just door to door …..but state to state. And so the process of ‘purging the stuff’ began & is still ongoing……TOTALLY relating to what you are saying and going through! “Tossing” has definitely been the hardest…….
    Thanks for sharing.

    • It’s been almost 30 years since our last move. I can’t even imagine packing up our things for a move. I think I’d have to lie down until the move was over! Yeah, right….

  7. Love the yellow walls too! My walls are yellow…even my floor is painted yellow (I do have some white to keep it calm.). Your set-up looks great!

    • I wanted cheerful when we painted so I chose yellow. This was my son’s room back in the day. He wasn’t pleased that I took down the White Sox wallpaper and painted the room yellow. Oh well…you’re a grown upnow. Get over it!! 🙂

  8. crazymountainquilter on said:

    I cut and iron on the same table. I have one of those ironing pads that have a board thingy inside. I just put it on top of my cutting mat when I need to press and take it off when I need to cut. It isn’t great for a whole queen or king size quilt….but then again neither is an ironing board. Anything big always gets hung up on the edges or corners. And ideally the darn cord needs to come from the ceiling on a springy handy down thing so that too does not get hung up on your quilt when trying to press.
    Your space looks great, enjoy!!!

    • I was going to look for a small ironing table for the cutting table. I agree…cords should come from the ceiling. Wait…then I’d need a ladder every time I wanted to plug it in!

      • crazymountainquilter on said:

        That’s what electrical outlets with light switches are made for so you can leave it plugged in and just turn the switch off. Tell hubby he can thank me for that brilliant idea LOL as I am sure he will appreciate the extra input. *insert evil grin

  9. wow…totally jealous…looks wonderful!

  10. Sybil on said:

    Looks great – and I’m with nanayane……JEALOUS! Can’t wait to see your next creation.

  11. Looks fantastic! I finally broke down and bought one of those cabinets with the flip down ironing board. It was so great to have that floor space. I kept my big ironing board (folded up in a closet) for pressing large quilts and fabric yardage.

  12. Oh what joy to have new spaces built for your sewing! 🙂 I even peeked at your before photos and seriously, you’ve got nothin’! :wink!!: I, too, keep the rest of the house reasonable but the sewing room…. argh!

    I’m glad you found my blog. I see I will enjoy yours as well. 🙂

  13. Fantastic! I also had my first trip to Ikea recently…were you overwhelmed by the options? Whatever you bought there seems to blend in seamlessly!

    I’m thinking of using this youtube video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4LGbXou_u4c&feature=player_embedded to try to make my own pressing board, but if you have the money, the ironing board cabinets are really nice!

    • I had no idea Ikea had so many things besides furniture! I thought they just sold sleek, “clean” furniture. I would have needed a truck to bring things home if I bought everything I wanted!
      Thanks for the link to the pressing board video. Looks fairly simple…and I love simple! Beats a towel on the cutting table! 🙂

Your turn!

