buriedinscraps

Decide what to be and go be it.

Trip down memory lane

This past week, I read a couple of blog posts about old sewing machines–an old treadle machine that belonged to Grandma and an old Viking that belonged to a late Mother-in-Law.  They made me think about my first sewing machine.  I was probably around 14 or 15 (back in the days before electricity my boys would say) and I decided I was going to learn how to sew.  I scoured the papers for a machine I could afford.  Trust me…I couldn’t afford much!  I ended up with a machine that looked like this:

Nope, this isn’t the original.  I didn’t have enough sense to know that someday I would yearn for that beautiful wooden cover.  In a sense, I was proud of that machine.  It was all mine!  And then again, I was ashamed of it…it was so old.  No, I had to have newer someday.  I plugged along on it.  It witnessed my joy at completing a project and my frustration at unsewing my many mistakes.  But, I learned to sew on that old machine all the while coveting something better.  If I knew then what I know now…  How about a nickel for every time we’ve said that!

When my aunt got a Singer Golden Touch and Sew (who remembers when that was the cat’s  *#$@**^% ….pajamas?), I inherited her Kenmore.  Good bye to moldy old past and hello to a glistening future.  A future filled with zig-zags and buttonholes and blind hems!  WOW!  I was in high cotton!

Thus began the progression of machines.  From that old singer through a few Kenmores to a couple of Berninas to the awesome Bernina I now own.  And, although I’ve liked every machine I’ve ever owned, I don’t think I miss any of them like I miss that old Singer that I kicked to the curb so many years ago.  Don’t know if I’d still be sewing on it, but I’d like to reconnect with the memories hidden under that beautiful wooden cover.

I’ll bet you have memories of your first sewing machine!

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “Trip down memory lane

  1. My first sewing machine was a Singer that I bought at Wal-mart! I drove that $100 sewing machine into the ground… I’d take it to retreats and it would travel across the table as I sewed! I’d have to keep scooting it back. And the noise it would make! It was like driving a Mac truck! Now, I happily have a Bernina! (Which I love to pieces! Pun intended!) I should have driven it into the ground by now, but it’s holding up a whole lot better!

  2. Hi, I’ve received a comment to authorise which appears to have come from you but I’m not sure and thought I should check first with you. Firstly, I can’t understand why I need to authorise it as you have commented several times on my posts now and I have only asked to authorise once. Secondly, it has little square brackets at the beginning and end with dots. I remember approving one like that from someone else and it gave me repeated comments which I had to delete in the end. It also had no email address so I had to ask you this way. I suspect it is spam but wanted to check. I hope you don’t mind. I’m sorry if I’m being a numpty, still relatively new to blogging. Just delete this one from your page. Thanks, Avis x

  3. I love this post.

    My first machine was a second-hand Brother my mom bought from my aunt (who had already wore it to the ground before selling it). I fought with that stinkin’ thing so much that I still have hard feelings. 🙂 I fought with it so much, I thought that I was the problem – and almost gave up sewing.

    I still have it – it’s out in the garage somewhere. I don’t know what I’m going to do with it. I can’t imagine that hunk of junk will be worth anything someday. Maybe a trash compactor could make it into yard art or something.

    My first new machine is the one I have now: my Juki. I love that machine. I’ve found out that I’m actually fairly good at machine sewing. Nice surprise, that.

Your turn!

