buriedinscraps

Decide what to be and go be it.

One down…

…and a bunch to go!  But I’ve checked one project off my Summer To-Do list.  My Gettysburg Sun is finished!  Finally…    I know I’ve whined about it a little bit…OK, a lot.  But I finally finished it and took a step back and it actually doesn’t look too darn bad!  It’s amazing how some imperfections disappear with a good night’s sleep.  Having said that, I did “unsew” a few places.  No amount of sleep would have saved those “straight” lines!  Let’s just say, I’m glad the quilting police couldn’t pull me over.  I’d be doin’ time in the slammer!  So, here’s the finished product.

The finished product! 

I think the part I’m proudest of is the green border.  When I began the project and was full of optimism and enthusiasm, I decided to quilt a loopy design in that border.  As my enthusiasm waned, I thought I just might take the easy way out and leave it plain.  After all, it was only an inch or so wide.  But I convinced myself to stick to the plan.  If nothing else, it would be loopy practice. Although, believe me when I tell you that I’ve  had plenty of practice at being loopy!  Here’s my simplistic little border that I’m so proud of.  Not so much the workmanship itself, but the fact that I did it at all!

My loopy border!

The issues I had with quilting straight lines were well documented in a different whiny post so I won’t go into that again except to say that the lines did improve as I quilted more and below you can see the detail on one of the “suns”.

A star within the sun.

As you can see from the first photo, the quilt is finished with a sleeve and hanging on my front room wall.  I’m very happy with the result and all is right with the world tonight.  Now, on to the next one!

Single Post Navigation

30 thoughts on “One down…

  1. You should be very happy with it!!! It came out gorgeous! I love the pattern! Way to go Candy!

  2. I love the colors. Purple and green are my latest obsession. It’s beautiful.

  3. I love this little quilt! And if the quilt police were super vigilant, the slammer would be overflowing!

  4. Sybil on said:

    It looks great….I love it. Good job on crossing one off your list AND having it on full display.

  5. I really like this quilt too, Candy. I need to get my frame put together and get at the baby quilt that must be ready to leave for Canada on June 27. Too much procrastination. I need to make a list and start crossing things off. You are a great example.

    • You make me smile when you say a good example. It’s what our mothers always hoped for! 🙂 I understand the procrastination…I’m actually very good at it! that’s why I chose to post my list for the entire world to see…should the entire world look at my blog! I ay be guilted into finishing some things. Good luck with the baby quilt!

  6. Congratulations. As you say – one down. What a satisfying feeling.

  7. Very nice! Congratulations on ticking it off your list. I really like the stars in the middle.

  8. I am definitely in favor of the “loopy” school of quilting. Most every quilting pattern can be adapted to include at least 1 loop now and then! At this rate you will be a serious contender for Sa-loopy-torian!!! Sorry…..just had to say it!! Hehehehe!

  9. Race you!!! Very nice being able to move one from the unfinished column into the finished… What are you working on next, another unfinished, or new?

    • Another unfinished. It needs quilting….most of my unfinished just need quilting! Kind of a quilting procrastinator. I have it marked and pin-basted. It’s a small quilt so it shouldn’t take very long. Ha!

  10. Congrats on a beautiful finish! You did a great job on the piecing and the quilting!

    LaDonna

  11. It’s beautiful. I love the design, the quilting and the colours. Well done! Keep going….!!!

  12. It is beautiful – and your quilting is great! You really did a good job. Yay & high five on the finish! Love the colors too! 🙂

  13. It’s beautiful! Your work makes me want to get back to the sewing machine. 😀

  14. So proud of you sticking to the plan. That is the only way to improve. You did a great job! I love the quilt. It looks really nice in your front room. Keep us posted on all your finishes.

Your turn!

