buriedinscraps

Decide what to be and go be it.

Another one bites the dust!

And I’m so glad it did!  I’m checking one more off my summer to-do list!  I finished the quilt I call Square Cubed. I call it that because it’s basically a Square Within a Square block that I extended to have three squares.  I really like this little quilt.  I’m sure you’ll remember the fabrics…the little guys that wouldn’t talk to me.  Piecing the quilt was easy once I decided what I wanted to do.  But as always, I was drawing a blank when it came to quilting it.  I have the hardest time deciding how to quilt my quilts.  I almost never want anything “straight” or grid-like.  But I also don’t always want a stipple or all over design.  I’m usually stumped when it comes to motifs or quilting plain blocks.  This quilt had many opportunities to show off quilting.  However, I’m not sure showing off is a good thing for someone who still has so much to learn.  But here are a few pictures of the end result!

I stitched in the ditch around the blocks and inside the pieced blocks.  I wanted something rounder and smoother for the center, so I chose a spiral.  I have to say they were fun to do and pretty easy.  I had a lot of practice with spirals by the time I was finished!

What to do with the plain blocks.  My original thought was to do a plume in these blocks and feathers in the borders.  After I looked at the borders, I decided that they really weren’t wide enough for my current feathers.  Maybe in the near future I can make them small enough to fit in a smaller border but right now I’m like those big semis you see on the road…I make wide turns!  So I chose one of Leah’s fill patterns…Bubble Wand…and used it in the plain blocks and on the border.  Lots of practice with circles and travelling.  I think that it may also help me with feathers.  It seems like a good jumping off place for them.  The picture above shows my inner border and some of the outer border.

I was merrily stitching along…my fmq looking pretty darn good if I do say so myself!  I made the mistake of turning the quilt over.  Oh dear!  I had eyelashes on the back.  I know that quilting circles and curves can breed eyelashes.  I made the decision to not unsew.    Moved on the next bunch of circles and slowed down a bit and was careful about making the curves.  I was feeling pretty smug.  Turned it over and….more eyelashes!  I had enough eyelashes on the back of that quilt to film an episode of Jerseylicious!  Click on the picture below to get a real good look at the mess!

Dang!  Now what!  I’m not giving up and I am finishing this quilt!  Checked the needle, the thread, feed dogs.  Everything seemed fine.  The only thing left was to check the tension.  (Insert blood curdling scream here.)  I really don’t like to fool with tension.  A few weeks back, I spent an afternoon getting the tension just right.  Then I wrote down the number and thought my tension issues were over.  Wrong.  I readjusted the tension and after a few practice spirals, I found the right tension….again.  And then things went smoothly for me.

This is what good tension looks like.  🙂  I guess this quilting thing is a constant learning curve.  Just when you think you know it all…you learn something else!

Here’s the finished project.  Now I’m on to the next one.  It feels so good to have finished a couple of quilt tops that have been languishing on my sewing room.  Finishing is good…..

Single Post Navigation

13 thoughts on “Another one bites the dust!

  1. I think the spirals inside the squares is a really cute idea. I love the way you write about your thought process, designs, and how it all turns out, so I thought this Beautiful Blogger award was perfect for you. http://textileranger.com/2012/06/18/the-unexpected/

  2. This is great. I know what you mean about not just wanting to do standard stuff, but anything more creative always seems not such a good idea for me by the end when I have had to do it thirty times! Your whole finishing things off project is an inspiration!

    • Very true about doing it thirty times! When I get these brilliant ideas I try to remind myself that it might not be such a great idea the twentieth time around!

  3. Sybil on said:

    LOVE the spirals! And those pesky eyelashes……I deal with them also. Tomorrow I’m doing a spiral that starts with FMQ and then you put on your walking foot to finish it off (it was in an American quilt magazine I picked up this weekend). Should be interesting.

    Good job on finishing another project on your summer sewing list – look at you GO girlfriend! 🙂

  4. Hooray for another finish! It looks lovely and I love your choice of spirals in the centers. You did an amazing job! Keep up the good work!

  5. Oh girl! I really love it. It’s simply fantastic. I think your much too hard on yourself. I think you ought to celebrate just a little more before your next project.

  6. I need a good tension tutorial! I suck at it, (worse than my machine quilting! LOL!) I tried using a cone thread with a pin taped to the back of my machine. That section really needs to be unpicked! The tension was really messed up! I wasn’t ever able to get rid of the little bleeps on the back of the quilt, but like you, I perservered! Let me know if you find any good tutes… Helpless when it comes to quilting.

  7. I love that you show your mistakes and your persistance in overcoming them! We learn from our mistakes and you are an inspiration!

  8. You have turned into my favorite blog. I love how unabashedly you talk about issues that you’ve had and overcome. One of these days I’m going to learn to quilt like that!!

Your turn!

