buriedinscraps

Decide what to be and go be it.

The quilt whisperer…

Maybe some of you remember this quilt….

This is my Civil War tribute quilt that I was too cowardly to quilt myself.  My fmq skills were nowhere near where they needed to be to wrestle with this guy.  Besides, I just wasn’t confident enough to tackle it no matter what size it was!  I cried “Uncle” and decided to have it quilted by a local long arm quilter.

I was pretty nervous about leaving my “baby”.  I felt like I did when I left my son at college for the first time.  (Although I don’t think I had to worry about my quilt walking on the wild side!)  I was apprehensive to say the least.

One of the biggest reasons I did not quilt this myself is that I’m design challenged when it comes to quilting.  I never know how to begin…I never know where to put which motifs…or if I should put a motif at all!  That’s why I end up stippling or meandering or some such thing.  I feel it’s better to wander than to have to live with botched florals for all eternity!  I looked at that quilt and I had  no idea what to do with it.  So I put myself on the waiting list for the long arm quilter.

The day finally came when I was to take my baby to camp and leave it.  I “dethreaded” it, pressed it, pressed the backing, hung it on a hanger and left for the quilter.  When I arrived at her house she asked me about how I would like it quilted.  I told her I had no idea.  She spread the quilt out and looked at it and ran her hands over it and started to tell me how she would quilt it.  I was stunned when she finished…it was exactly what I wanted…except I didn’t know it until she told me!  It was like the quilt told her how it should be finished.  I’ve seen shows on television about dog whispers and horse whisperers.  I think she must be a quilt whisperer! ( Wouldn’t that be an awesome show!)

Here’s the sort of finished product.  Sort of finished because it still needs the binding.  And I think I’ve documented pretty well just how much I hate love to attach binding.  But it will be finished soon…our guild’s show is early October.

Each block is quilted individually with designs where they were appropriate….some with feathers, some not.  There’s a viney, leafy design in the sashing and the border is quilted with straight lines to give the illusion of a pieced border.  She used three thread colors….something I wouldn’t do…I have enough trouble using one!  She thought that the thread shouldn’t overpower the blocks.  I liked the subtlety of that.

Enjoy my  little slideshow of some of the blocks.  Ah…to quilt like that………………………

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Single Post Navigation

27 thoughts on “The quilt whisperer…

  1. Good lord that’s beautiful – the squares every bit as much as the quilting!

    • Thanks! It was fun to make. I love the reproduction fabrics so I was like a kid in the candy store every Saturday when the new block was posted! Now to get the binding attached. Not my favorite job. :-(

    • Thanks! Barbara Brackman is starting a new block of the week in September. It will commemorate the fight for women’s rights. My sister and I are thinking about doing that one, also. Here’s a link if you’d like to take a look.

      http://grandmotherschoice.blogspot.com/

      • Thanks for the link Candy…I will check that out!

      • You, my friend, are an enabler! I almost think I need to do this with you and your sister. I’m thinking that some William Morris fabrics need to find their way to my little Hermitville……

        • Oh sure! Blame me!! The WM fabrics would be beautiful! Mary and I will be happy to have you aboard. :-)

          Are we still on for the New York Beauty in the fall….or spring for you?

          • We need to figure out this New York Beauty project, don’t we? Maybe we do one NYB block a MONTH? The class I was going to take was postponed but I think we could come up with our own plan/pattern as a starting point. What do you think?

            • I think it sounds like a plan! One block per month would be fine. More than that and I run out of time for other projects. :-) I can’t remember the name of the gal on ebay with the patterns. I know I liked a few of her patterns.

  2. almost speechless…I do all my quilts by hand if I want design…by machine if I’m aiming for straight lines…I’ve always wanted to have a quilt quilted massively lovely by a professional…perhaps some day…your quilt it stunning!

  3. Thanks for your kind comment. I used to hand quilt but life and a job got in the way. If I didn’t machine piece and quilt, I’d never finish anything! I still intend to do most of my own quilting so I can say I made it. But I just didn’t want to “practice” on this one.

  4. This turned out so beautifully! It is gorgeous! You should be so proud of your work and your LAQ did a wonderful job adding to the beauty, not over-powering it. :)

  5. That’s exactly what I thought! Sometimes the long arm quilting is just too much. She achieved the perfect balance. I’m telling you…that quilt spoke to her! :-)

  6. Glad you like it! It’s probably one of my all time favorites.

  7. Candy, you should be so proud of this quilt. Your color choices are so appropriate for the effect you wanted, and the block patterns you chose emphasize that time period feeling.

    I understand your quilting reluctance. I think every quilter has a favorite part of the process. Mine is designing and piecing the top, choosing the fabrics, and doing the binding. (I like hand sewing and getting to the binding means I’m done.)

    Congrats!

    • I agree. We all have our favortie parts. I truly love constructing the quilt top…choosing fabrics, piecing. I think I would have all of my tops quilted except that I like to say “I made this” and mean it! :-)

  8. It came out perfect!!! I’ve been afraid of quilting the larger quilts for the same reason… We must get over our fear! LOL! It looks incredible! I bet your thilled to have it back!!!

  9. Karen on said:

    Love it! I know how hard it is to “drop off” that Baby to the Quilter. AND, she does talk to each quilt.

  10. Absolutely stunning work, Candy. Each time you post one of your Civil War quilts – it makes me want to make one. :o)

  11. Hey there! Your Civil War quilt is gorgeous! Mine is also the Barbara Brackman pattern! And yes, my boyfriend works at Antietam seasonally as a interpretive ranger.

    • Thanks! It’s one of my favorites. Antietam is on our list of places to visit. We were in Richmond over the summer and visited a few battlefields. I love the ranger tours…they’re so interesting!

Your turn!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 122 other followers

