buriedinscraps

Decide what to be and go be it.

Got any of these?

Raise your hand if you have any of these stashed away someplace.  We all have them lurking in our quilting places.  I have a confession…I love fat quarter bundles!  Hello…my name is Candy and I love fat quarter bundles.  I buy them whenever and wherever I can.  I buy them often and with no regrets!  There’s something about a nice stack of coordinating fabrics, neatly folded and tied up with a ribbon that makes it seem like Christmas.  With one big difference…on Christmas morning, I have absolutely no problem tearing into packages.  Ribbons are no barrier to me!

But fat quarter ribbons…that’s another story all together.  I have the hardest time untying those ribbons to get at the fabric they hold together.  As if the fabrics will somehow lose their beauty or appeal if I separate them.  You can’t split up the children!  I’ll bet you think I’m a little goofy.  You wouldn’t be the first to think that!  To make this story even more strange, when I finally bring myself to untie the bundle and cut into the fabrics, I like to try to put them back with the same ribbon.  (OK–so lock me up!  🙂  )  Seems like once I sort them and put them with friends of the same color or style they aren’t new anymore!  And we all love new fabric!

BUT!!  We all buy fabric to use…to cut …to stitch…  At least most of the time we do.  🙂  Many, many years ago, there was a woman in our quilt guild who loved fabric.  (No, not me!  Although I love fabric, this isn’t about me.)  She went on every bus trip and visited every quilt shop she could and she bought beautiful fabrics—yards and yards of them.  However, they were so beautiful that she would never cut them.  I’d bet the farm she didn’t even own a pair of scissors. ..didn’t need them.  We never saw so much as a potholder made from that glorious stash.  Of course, the new quilter that I was, I was cutting everything that wasn’t fast enough to escape the blades!  Now, I can kind of relate to her…sort of.

I love my fabrics and it takes a while before I cut them.  But I do cut them.  And I do stitch them.  And I think I do pretty darn good job of it!  I realized that those beauties are still with me in my quilts…just transformed into triangles and squares instead of fat quarters.  It’s what they’re meant to be.

Anybody else like this?  Please say yes…….

Single Post Navigation

24 thoughts on “Got any of these?

  1. I just don’t seem to have the time to make the things I want to make so the piles of fabric get bigger!

  2. Bill and I are cracking up, Because, we know who this lady is who collects fabric and never cuts any up!! And, yes I confess I have “several” fat quarter pacs that I just love to look at and sometimes cut up and actually use!!
    Love your blog, everytime.
    Karen

  3. I got a few. I did separate a bundle of 2.5 strips once. Regret quickly followed. lol. I understand.

    Everytime you send me a wrapped bundle or piece of fabric rolled up it sits on my shelf forever before I tear into it. I am however getting better at using my fabrics.

  4. That lady has been seen lurking around my sewing studio!

  5. So very true. I know exactly how you feel. I used to get samples from a manufacturer of all the designs in one colourway held together with one of those plastic tags they put on clothes labels. I couldn’t even cut the tag. and I have a pile of nasty polycotton gingham fat quarters tied with ribbon in my workroom as a decoration. There’s something about that neat folding too…

    • Gingham…I remember quilting with gingham. Back in the day when I first began to quilt we didn’t have the choices we have now! I used whatever I could find….including my husband’s shirts. Hey…our grandmothers used whatever. 🙂
      Your gingham fat quarters might be nasty to sew but I’ll bet they’re cute as heck as decoration!

  6. Hello, my name is Connie and I also have lots of fat quarter bundles….I confess, but I have plans for all of them – really I do!!! I just can’t find the time to get to them – perhaps if I just didn’t work and keep house and cook and laundry, etc….shall I go on? I’m sure we all have this problem…

    They are beautiful though…keep sharing.

  7. Candy! I didn’t know you were hosting a QA (Quilters Anonymous) meeting!?! I am more into those strip rolls and fat quarters that some shops turn in to individual works of origami!! Sometimes I feel they lose some of their charm (pun intended) when taken apart!! Am getting better, though, but not quick enough to offset the incoming stock!!!! I really don’t believe there is a cure for this!!! I’m here for ya, though..hehe!

  8. Men have sheds full of DIY tools. Ladies have drawers (well, maybe rooms) full of fabric. That’s life! I always take the ribbons off, without undoing the bow if possible, and then spend forever putting them back on again…
    Avis x 😀

  9. Hehehe Candy! I feel your pain! I’m always sorry to break up those lovely bundles! I went to Quilt Market the first year it was in Salt Lake! I bought so many fat quarter bundles (at half price, no less) that I could be in bundles until I die. My friends and I joke about our “2 year fabric supply” (Around here everyone has a 2 year food supply. Who needs food?) We’re collecting for when we retire. (And then some!)

    Have you bought any bundles that you no longer care for because your tastes have changed? I’m guilty as charged with that one! LOL!

    • Who needs a food supply when you can have a fabric supply! Hmmm….green beans..batiks? The choice is easy!! I’m pretty sure when I retire in two years, I’ll be well supplied.

      I’m looking at two bundles right now. One is a beautiful Hoffman-like floral and the other is a snowman. Both are beautiful little bundles…just not my reproduction babies!

Your turn!

