buriedinscraps

Decide what to be and go be it.

Ugh…

This is why you should not “multi-task” when quilting.The grandkids were over until mid-afternoon.  After I finished watching the ballgame (yes…they lost…dopes!), I went downstairs to sew.  My son decided to talk to me.  I know better.  I know I cannot carry on an extended conversation and sew.  I can barely chew gum and walk!  But, since time was limited, I decided to try anyway.  After I cut the first strip too narrow, I should have quit.  But I didn’t.  I cut the second strip too narrow.  I should have quit.  But I didn’t.  I read a quote that says “Every man is a fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit.”  I blew right past that limit on Sunday and never looked back!   I wish there had been a speed trap–maybe I would have stopped.  But, sadly, no.

My son left and I continued to work on this poor, little block.  I cut the rectangles as per the directions.  I just forgot that I had made a slight modification to the corner squares.  The rectangles were a “smidge” too long.  You would think I would have learned a lesson by now…recut them.  Nope…how much could a “smidge” hurt?  One might not hurt too much, but four could be painful.  And, that’s how I ended up with this lumpy, puffy mess.  And to add insult to injury, the fabric just didn’t go together as well as it had in my head.  I don’t know when I’ve made an uglier block..if I ever have.

I was going to remove the offending rectangles since that fabric didn’t fit visually or technically.  Then my younger son called to check in as he does every Sunday.  So, I put it down, turned out the light and walked away…hoping it would look better in the morning.  It didn’t.  And, now it’s here.  Out of sight…out of mind…out of my life.

Moral of this cautionary tale:

Measure twice, cut once and don’t talk!  🙂

Quilting can be a humbling experience!

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Ugh…

  1. Awww! Sorry for bloop, but, I really liked your color comb. Maybe you should try again with that same color combo, now that your in a better frame of mind.
    What is this block for? Another quilt or one you are working on?
    Speaking of frame of mind!! Been there done that. I have learned over the yrs., step back, turn out the lite….
    Karen

  2. I really liked it also! And I’m so glad it didn’t go to the big scrap pile in the sky.

    Have you and your sister started posting to the flickr site yet? Let me know your names over there, ok? I’m Sybil53.

    • My sister has decided not to join us after all. 😦 I haven’t set up a flickr account yet. I’ve been too busy trying to get that darn second block to work. I pieced the first one three times. It was still not right. I made a new one and it isn’t right either. Did you have any trouble with Amethyst?

Your turn!

