buriedinscraps

Decide what to be and go be it.

Dang! It was operator error…..

You may recall these blocks and my rant about how they go don’t go together right and the pattern was wrong and so on and so on and so on.

My very first impulse was to toss them in the trash and be done with it.  I decided against that.  My second idea was to iron the snot out of them and hope for the best.  I tried that and the best I got was “eh..ok”.  I decided that “eh” was OK.  After  having slept on it, I decided to take it completely apart and start over.  I looked at the illustration that was given and I read it to mean to sew two dark triangles to opposite sides of the square and then construct the two remaining sides and set them in.  You see how that worked for me! 

So, I sewed the dark triangles to all four sides of the center square,leaving 1/4′” open at each end.  Then I set the larger triangles in and guess what!  It worked.

I had been relying on my memory to do the “Y” seam.  Now, everyone knows that women of a certain age should never rely on their memory.  🙂  Lesson learned!

All was right with the world….until I saw this week’s block.  Oh my!!  I did my best Scarlett O’Hara impression and said  “I won’t think about that today.  I’ll think about that tomorrow.”   🙂

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “Dang! It was operator error…..

  1. As a friend of mine always said…..situations such as these test one’s “sanctity”!LOL!

  2. I told you the next one was unreal. I think if you think Dresden Plate. It will be fine. Appliqué two rings of petals. Don’t attempt to y seam those. LOL

  3. Oh my! I thought the Amethyst was difficult, but it is getting progressively worse. I hope this doesn’t continue. I agree, I will think about the new block another day. Set in seams AND curves, Geez!

  4. Your post a few weeks ago got me interested in the Grandmother’s Choice quilt, so I signed up too. I haven’t made any of the blocks yet, but I can tell this is one place where procrastination has paid off! My strategy is to wait until you make the blocks first, and then I will learn from your helpful tips! I really don’t know if I will even try that sunflower one though!

    • Cracks me up! I’ll pass along any helpful tips if I have them. But I’m usually looking for them myself! The sunflower…I dunno. I may procrastinate myself on this one.

  5. Set in seams? I’m plugging my ears and I’m not listening. La la la…

    And here I was so happy that I’ve finally managed to wrangle a good square nine patch. I think I’ll wait until I master triangles before I sign up for any Grandmother’s Choice type of piecing.

    I love the fabrics you used in the blocks.

Your turn!

