buriedinscraps

Decide what to be and go be it.

And the winner is……

ME!!

Yep!  I won first place in the Large Quilt category at our quilt show this weekend for my Civil War Tribute quilt.  I feel validated as a quilter.  It’s one thing when your family and friends tell you your work is good.  But it’s something else when strangers think so, too.  See…I guess there are traditional people out there after all!  My husband was looking for the big check.  He’s a funny man!

The Best of Show was a pictoral wallhanging…very pretty.  It was interesting how she made the fabric patterns work for her.  A little broidrey perse I think.  (Yeah, I’m pretty sure I spelled that wrong!)

We had about 20 vendors…most of whom I made very happy with my purchases. 🙂  Picked up some fabrics for Grandmother’s Choice and a couple of  patterns and just lots of things!  A girl can’t have too many things, you know!  I took my grandchildren to the show on Sunday and they bought out the resale shop.  They spent $6 and walked out with two shopping bags of “stuff”.  One man’s stuff is another man’s junk.  I’m just glad the junk stuff went home with them and not to my house.  I have enough junk stuff of my own!

It was a very busy weekend.  Setting up, working at the show and taking the show down.  But my husband and I still managed to go to Shipshewanna on Monday….where I bought more repro fabrics and another pattern.  Laying in supplies for the winter. 🙂  We also bought an old window from a church in Mexico.  I’m planning to make a piece of patchwork to frame behind it and hang it above the door in my front entry.  It will be very nice when it’s finished.  My husband is very smart…he put it right next to my sewing machine so that it’s the first thing I see when I sit down to sew.  Clever man!

Enjoy this slideshow of some of my favorite quilts from the show.  Which is your favorite?  Mine is the one with the ribbon on it! 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Single Post Navigation

32 thoughts on “And the winner is……

  1. Which one do I like best? Are you kidding me? My stitching sister’s of course. YAY Score one for the traditional quilt! It’s gorgeous of course!

  2. Congratualtions! Love yours and all of them…guess quilts are just our thing…

  3. YES!!! I am so happy for you and all your hard work! I saw it and it is Beautiful!!!
    I love it.
    Your right, traditional are Best.
    You know I Thank You for getting me into Quilting.

  4. So hard to choose a favorite (aside from the one with the ribbon of course)! I really like the dimensional ladies, and the cat in the barn door, and the black and white compasses….

  5. quilt32 on said:

    Mine was definitely the one with the ribbon – just my kind of quilt. Winning a ribbon is certainly a confidence-builder. You deserved it.
    Lillian
    lillianscupboard.wordpress.com

  6. loavesandstitches on said:

    Congratulations! That is a great accomplishment!

  7. They are all so beautiful and yours absolutely deserves that added ribbon “touch”! I would find it so difficult to be a judge for one of those types of shows!!! I love them all!!! Congrats to you most definitely! Hugs, D

  8. Congratulations on your ribbon! The quilt is beautiful!

  9. I’m not surprised at all that your quilt won! Congratulations 😀 Your quilt is gorgeous!! Avis x

  10. Congratulations on your win. It’s a great feeling.

  11. How cool is that? Love your quilt – have to go find the full picture of it now – I know I really loved it the first time I saw it. Congrats!

  12. Congratulations Candy! You definitely deserved it! It looked fabulous! I went to a Dear Jane retreat in Shipshewana several years ago… Fun, fun time!

  13. Congratulations! Your quilt is beautiful! Very deserving. xoxo Connie 🙂

  14. Congratulations! So beautiful and lovely colors in harmony.

  15. Congratulations on your win! I know that was exciting!!

Your turn!

