buriedinscraps

Decide what to be and go be it.

Funny….

Funny how life always gets in the way of the best laid plans!

When last you saw me, I was going into the sewing palace to make Barbie clothes and wasn’t coming out until they were finished…or until tempted with a bottle of wine.  Neither happened.  OK…well maybe I gave in to the siren song of a bottle glass of Merlot.  Barbie’s wardrobe was just as frustrating as I feared…little seams and little stitches.   Forget the little snaps.  It was velcro all the way! (I think I could have sewn a wardrobe for myself faster and easier.)  Anyone who thinks making “little” things should be quick and easy because they’re little has never obviously made little things.  I used the Barbie that lives at my house for a model.  For a skinny chick I sure had trouble getting her jeans over her hips…just like some of us not-so-skinny chicks!  Apparently she has a rubbery and the fabric stuck to it.  (Insert joke here.)  And to make it worse, she has a funky arm.  This particular Barbie is a baker and her arm is designed to fit around a mixing bowl.  Grandma didn’t check that out when she bought Barbie.  Of course, Grandma is from the era when Barbie was just Barbie–not astronaut Barbie or baker Barbie or deep-sea diver Barbie.  Needless to say, MiniQuiter is getting a different Barbie for Christmas….one with normal arms.  I remember making Barbie clothes in the past that fit much better.  Someone has changed the patterns!  I mean, seriously, these patterns are made to fit one “person”…Barbie.  It’s not like you need to make adjustments for  different figures.  Seriously McCall’s and Simplicity…she has one figure.  And a not so realistic one at that, but we won’t even go there!

barbieSo, most of the sewing is done.  (I’m hoping to finish one more dress for Ms. Barbie.) Most of the gifts are wrapped, cookies are baked, cards are sent.  One thing left to do….wish all of my blogging buddies a merry Christmas and best wishes for the upcoming year.  May we finish our current UFOs and replace them new ones.  And may we find the time to do just that.  (Darn Barbara Brackman is planning a block of the month for the upcoming year.)

ornament2

Merry Christmas!

See you in 2013!

Single Post Navigation

17 thoughts on “Funny….

  1. Merry Christmas to you too! And they came out cute, even if they were a pain in the neck! LOL! Hugs!

  2. That project is one I have never attempted and will avoid at all costs (even for the sweetest grand sweetie!!!!). I can picture you gasping on a “fainting couch” with the obligatory glass (empty, of course!) of wine! Rejoice……we have made it to another Christmas and we have overcome!!!!! Blessings to you and yours…….D

  3. quilt32 on said:

    I feel just as you do about doll clothes and Barbie clothes are the worst.

    Merry Christmas to you.
    Lillian
    lillianscupboard.wordpress.com

  4. I can identify with you and Barbie too! The clothes look great, and will be much appreciated, I’m sure! A very Merry Christmas to you, and a blessed New Year of fun projects!

  5. I feel badly now about giving away the beautiful handmade wedding dress and shimmery blue satin ice skating outfit with my Barbie doll several years ago….(same vintage as yours; one Barbie – one figure). I remember the lady next door to my gramma made those… 😦

  6. Good for you!! You did it! And, still had time to get All your other things done… even your blog (of which I sooo enjoy).
    Hope to see these little “togs” on our visit. Happy Holidays to All.
    Karen

  7. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you too. I’m a bit late in my wishes as I haven’t checked blogs recently.
    I wouldn’t have the patience to make Barbie clothes.

Your turn!

