buriedinscraps

Decide what to be and go be it.

Happy New Year!

Happy New Year!  Yes, it’s that time again; where we look back and reflect on the good times as well as play woulda, coulda, shoulda.  Then we make our resolutions only to have them become a far away memory by February.  I don’t know about you but I’ve long since given up on New Year’s resolutions.  Who needs the pressure! 🙂 By the end of January I was beating myself up because I hadn’t done enough to change the world.  So I haven’t made one for many years.

But there’s something about this year that’s making me want to make a “strong suggestion” to myself this year.  You get to that point where you realize you have a whole lot more years behind you than you have in front of you.  And I want to spend those years healthier than I am now.  I have no real health issues and I want to keep it that way!  This is the year that I hope to lose those crummy 15 pounds I’ve been playing with the past few years, eat a healthier diet (bye-bye processed food…except wine :-)) and maybe actually exercise!   OMG…I said the “E” word!  I’m also looking into yoga.  Not promising anything.  Not “resolving” anything.  Just strongly suggesting to myself that this is the year I  take control of me.  Those in my house can come along for the ride if they dare!

We saw the movie “Lincoln” last night (short review–great movie..go see it!) and at one point toward the end, Abe turns to his wife and says “We need to try to be happier.”  And that will be my mantra this year…I need to try to be happier.  I’m not terribly unhappy, but I could be happier.  And it’s my goal to do just that!  Fortunately, quilting makes me happy!

I’ve been working on a quilt for MiniQuilter for over two years.  Took me forever because it was hand-embroidered.  The top is finally put together and it’s awaiting quilting.

basket_blockShe loves the 30s fabrics and this quilt pattern was perfect for them.  I was originally going to send the quilt out to be quilted, but I think Grandma should quilt it.  So that is my goal.  And I DO resolve to finish this quilt!

basket_quiltI can’t give her this quilt until I make one for her brother.  (Good thing I only have two grandchildren!)  I’ve been looking for a pattern for a quilt for MarioFan without much luck.  I was in the grocery store with my husband and thumbed through McCall’s American Loves Scrap Quilts and there it was! Paper Chain!

paper_chainI think it’s a perfect pattern for a boy’s quilt.  The picture of the finished quilt is a page from the magazine and the block is my test block.  It went together really well and pretty quickly.  I’m thinking I want to make it basically in blues and browns with a little bit of green and/or red.  I’m kind of excited!  The new year needs a new project!  And I resolve to finish this one also!

chain_blockWhat are your quilting resolutions….or “strong suggestions”?

Single Post Navigation

13 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. I found a vinyl wall quote and put it up in my sewing studio. “Find joy everyday” I am of the same opinion as you and Lincoln…we do need to try to be happier. That alone will go a long way towards good health.
    I had intended to make a Mario quilt for my grandson last year. It didn’t happen. Maybe this year. You might be interested in this link:

    http://cuttopieces.blogspot.com/2012/06/super-mario-brothers-quilt-along.html

    I love the sweet quilt for Miniquilter!

    Here’s to a joyful new year!

  2. Sue Farrell on said:

    As like you, I don’t make resolutions. I hate failing. One of the downsides of my personality. 😉 I have decided to finish losing the weight I have been working on (almost there). And–this is big, I hope to get rid of the flab that hangs on my arms. There, I verbalized it. Oh, and make many more quilts. I love you embroidered blocks. They are beautiful. Happy 2013.

    • I’ll be with you on the weight loss thing! I’m just tired of playing with it any more. I’m hoping the quilting will keep me out of the fridge! Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Wow! Your embroidery is Beautiful. . .Grandma must be lookin’ in on you! What a pretty Quilt and MarioFan should be happy about his.

  4. Love both the quilts and yes……I think Grandma needs to quilt it. 🙂 Hand or machine?

    Yoga? Absolutely adore it. I’ve dipped my toes in it off and on over the years but finally have become addicted. It’s important to keep trying classes until you find one that suits you. Email me if you want to chat more about it. I actually do more classes online these days than ‘live’ classes.

    And you know how I feel about kettle bells…don’t get me started…..ha!

  5. I have a quilt which has been virtually finished for seven years. It has one bit of terrible stitching to redo in the final corner and it needs pressing. That’s it. This year I will finish it. I seem to remember this has been my resolution on three previous occasions!

  6. quilt32 on said:

    I love the quilt you made for your granddaughter and the one you plan for grandson looks perfect for a boy.
    Lillian
    lillianscupboard.wordpress.com

Your turn!

