buriedinscraps

Decide what to be and go be it.

UNCLE!!

That’s it!  I’m crying “Uncle!”.

hairI’m officially throwing in the towel on Grandmother’s Choice. I love my Grandma and I love all of the grandmas that fought so hard so I could vote and have equality.  But this grandmother is choosing to move on to another project.  I think I have sewn each block on this project at least twice.  And, no I’m not making two quilts.  I’m estimating that by the time I’ve cut and recut and sewn and “unsewn” that I’ve constructed each block at least twice….some of them more.  I don’t consider myself a quilting idiot but I just can’t get these blocks to turn out the correct size without stretching the bejesus out of them.  And then they’re all distorted.  I don’t know if it’s my measurements or if it’s her trying to fit a nine inch block into an eight inch square.  Don’t know.  I just know that I can’t be that bad every week.  I think I made the Capitol T block at least three times…literally.  The first one was not quite right so I tried it again.  The Flying Geese were flying out of formation!  Recut them…three times.  Resewed it and it was even smaller than the first.  I’m sooo tired of wasting good fabric.  So, I’m officially outta there!  Movin’ on up and all that good stuff…

If Barbara Brackman is reading this (and I’m pretty sure she isn’t. 🙂 ) I still love ya!  And I plan to sew along with the new Civil War block of the month tomorrow.  But quilting is supposed to be enjoyable and for me, this isn’t! 😦

Single Post Navigation

30 thoughts on “UNCLE!!

  1. I have up long ago. It doesn’t make sense to squeeze nine inch blocks into eight inch blocks. Too much hassle. I could t get ten right either. Good riddance. But… I may look into this new one coming up. Details????

  2. Yep, i threw in the towel a month ago. They are just too hard for me. When it stops being fun, its time to move on.

  3. quilt32 on said:

    I certainly think you gave it a fair try. I also don’t like to waste time or fabric and I want the process to be enjoyable.
    Lillian
    lillianscupboard.wordpress.com

  4. Hmmm…and here I’ve been saving all of the blocks in a folder for later. I’m not encouraged after reading this post and the comments. Later may never come.

  5. I’m a bit like that with books. Sometimes I read the same bit over and over and I still don’t get what is going on so I give up and move onto something more enjoyable. Time is far too precious in my eyes 🙂 Avis x

  6. I hear you, girlfriend! This is the first time I’ve done one of Barbara’s programs but so far……I’m a bit frustrated too. And I’m not a crap quilter EITHER! I’ll probably keep chugging along but I certainly am frustrated that no 2 blocks of mine are turning out the correct size. And if it’s a ploy to buy the computer program to get them PERFECT – well, it’s not happening with me.

    I am NOT going to check out the BOM program though. I am not. I am not. Repeat after me…..I am not….. 🙂

    Life is too short to spend time doing things that you don’t enjoy.

    • I actually have an ancient copy of Block Base. It’s on floppies and I can’t get it into my laptop now. (Told you it was ancient!) I did check out the new BOM and it looks interesting. MiniQuilter wants to do it. She’s really only made four-patches so I’m not sure……… I’ll wait to see if she says any more. 🙂

  7. Sue Farrell on said:

    I agree with Oh Sew Something. Too many great quilt patterns out there to be totally frustrated. Not bad being challenged, but only to a point.

  8. Time to take up paper piecing Candy! If you can print it to the right size, you can sew it to the right size! LOL! I had the same problem with my Dear Jane! I tried to figure out measurements! I finally gave in and learned PP’ing. Good luck! There are some hard patterns

  9. Sometimes you just have to move on. If it ceases being fun — it’s time!

  10. Life’s too short to waste on optional stuff you are not enjoying. Good for you for saying good-bye! Can’t wait to see what you have lined up next.

  11. I totally agree with your thought process – why waste time on something you’re not enjoying? Dump the project! We’ve all been there, I’ve been there, I have half a bin of orphans to prove it. I make potholders or mug rugs out of them, and occasionally I cannibalize a block for a snippet of much loved or needed fabric . The blocks that really bring back bad memories, I use for dust rags. 🙂

    • i save orphan blocks…unless they really iritate me. Then I don’t even save them for dust rags. They become landfill fodder. I want them out of my life!!

  12. I’m with you on this one! Move on to something more enjoyable. I’m just glad I realized it when we got to week 4-Kansas Sunflower. I could see where this was going. A block a week, OMG, they need to be simple, just sayin’!

Your turn!

