buriedinscraps

Decide what to be and go be it.

Let me introduce you….

….to my new grandson, Danny O’Day.  Isn’t he cute?  Yeah, I know….

dannyAs much as my grandson, MarioFan loves Mario, he loves ventriloquism more.  I’m not sure where this comes from…we never dropped him on his head.  Maybe from the other side of his family. 😉  Anyway, all he wanted for Christmas was a ventriloquist dummy…with an upgrade.  I have no idea what that upgrade was, but I guess Santa did because this was under the tree.  We’ve been tortured lucky enough to have seen several shows and now he’s taking his show on the road..to the other grandma’s house.

His dad decided that Danny needed a travel upgrade also.  Instead of traveling in a grocery bag, my son (Would that make him Danny’s grandfather?)  thought Danny needed a case.  He searched for directions to make one to no avail.  Buying one would be very expensive.  So, who’s the dummy?  The one inside the case or the one buying it?  He settled on a suitcase he bought at the thrift shop.  It was in great shape…but it was moss green.  So, he spray painted it black.  Next issue was how to secure Danny in the case…don’t want my newest grandson to be injured!  Here’s where I come in.  I made pillows for either side and one for his sweet, plastic head.  Then I stapled some Velcro to the ribbon straps inside so they could be pulled tight across his body.  All that’s left to do is to make some travel stickers for the case and we’ll be cookin’ with gas!

caseThat is the extent of my sewing lately.

As for any other sewing, still in a bit of a funk.  I did pull some fabrics for a New York Beauty block but that’s as far as I got.  I keep looking at them.  And with my best Scarlett O’Hara voice, I say “I won’t think about that today.  I’ll think about that tomorrow.”  Sometimes I love how Scarlett thinks!

Single Post Navigation

23 thoughts on “Let me introduce you….

  1. MarioFan as you call him here is a very creative little guy. You will video tape a show for me right? It’s a must see, I’m sure. 😉

  2. Love it! The quilting will come. Kids grow up too fast.

  3. Dummies always remind me of horror movies like Chuckie, so do clowns. That is all.

  4. quilt32 on said:

    I love Danny/Mario and his special suitcase.
    Lillian
    lillianscupboard.wordpress.com

  5. Don’t ya just love it when a gift couldn’t be more perfect???? I often wish it would happen more often but then it wouldn’t be as thrilling to participate in! Love the travel quarters!! You did a great job….definitely “first class” accommodations!! The “mojo” will come! Hugs, Doreen

  6. May I say, in the kindest way possible, that he’s a little creepy?

  7. Oh, I think his travel case is awesome! You did a lovely job with it! 😉

  8. Weird – I really fancy learning ventriloquism so that the dummy could tell my students all the things I would like to say but am too polite too. World’s weirdest documentary with Nina Conti on ventriloquism if you get chance to see it. She is fabulous though. Rambling so bye bye.

Your turn!

