buriedinscraps

Decide what to be and go be it.

Another one bites the dust!

I’m beginning to love that song!

quiltYes!!  I have another finished project.  I purchased this pattern about a year ago.  I put it on the back burner for a while.  I guess I lit a fire under that burner when I decided I wanted to learn wool applique.  I added the last border on my own.  I didn’t think it looked finished without it.  I like it very much!!

quiltingHere’s a close-up of my quilting on this piece.  I used a stencil for this corner.  I didn’t trust myself to do this free-hand.  If you click on the picture you can see my freehand leaf border.  Now, that’s something I like!!  I have the leaf design down pretty good!

pumpkinAnd here’s my first  attempt at wool applique.  I learned something while stitching this.  I didn’t know that perle cotton came in different weights.  I know it now!  This was like stitching with a rope.  I’m sure it would have been easier and the stitching finer if I had used lighter weight perle cotton.  Ah well!  Live and learn!  I’m just glad I didn’t learn it on my Noah’s Ark project I plan to begin shortly.  I’m going to a new quilt shop Saturday.  I’ve called ahead and found that they carry Valdani perle cotton in various weights!  So, that’s next on my list!

Two unfinished projects now finished!  Whoohoo!!!!!

Single Post Navigation

13 thoughts on “Another one bites the dust!

  1. Awesome! Quilting looks great!

  2. quilt32 on said:

    I greatly admire your quilting as well as the wool applique. It’s a beautiful piece.
    Lillian

  3. I actually like your rope stitching. The heavier weight creates a well-defined outline of the applique, and does a great job of covering the raw edges. Your quilting looks great too! Cute project!

  4. This is a lovely piece. and the wool applique has lovely shading. And I share the joy of finishing with you!

  5. Absolutely adorable!

  6. I took a class where the designer/teacher was a big fan of Valdani perles… Awesome stuff! This came out amazing!!! I love your pumpkins, and the quilting is fabulous!

  7. KrisR on said:

    Looks great, Candy! I love the warm colors and your stitching looks perfect. I’m debating on hand buttonhole stitching vs machine for a basket quilt I want to make.

Your turn!